Look Out

It’s been nearly a year since my last post, and in that time I have managed to neglect both of my blogs. I have been taking pictures, however, (more with my phone, which was unexpected) and have found many a sightly image that arrested my attention.

The image I uploaded below speaks a lot towards some things I have been feeling lately, especially related to what I see in the streets and on the news. I am unsure whose work this (I don’t believe I saw a tag), so if you are the person who made it, please inform me of who you are to receive credit.

Yup, that's about right. Unfortunately.
Yup, that’s about right. Unfortunately.

I found that graffiti one day while in the West Loop area of Chicago, just a few blocks north of University of Illinois-Chicago (UIC). The neighborhood is mostly safe, although there have been more news reports of robberies in the area. Thankfully, all of the family, friends, and acquaintances of mine have had little trouble when traveling there, but we are all aware of the lurking danger. When I saw those words, my awareness of how bad things can get multiplied.

On a wider scale, however, that graffiti encapsulates many of the things I hear and read about in the news. Whether it be crimes committed by ISIS, shootings by police, shootings at police, or even the US presidential election, “Hunt or be Hunted” appears to be a consistent theme, one that illustrates humanity at our most feral.

Perhaps that last bit was a little sensationalist, but I do not believe it is untrue. Please note that I am not so cynical I think we’re headed for some sort of apocalypse soon, nor do I believe the world is at its worst. I am, however, concerned about some of the things we do to each other as species. And just so you know, I actually have considered of a solution to help alleviate some of these issues. You may think it selfish, but I look in the mirror and tell myself, “I’m not contributing to this madness” and go from there. I can understand if you find that solution horribly self-centered, but what is society if it isn’t a collection of selves?

Until next time. Stay safe out there.

 

One thought on “Look Out

Leave a Reply

